Home » Newsroom

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE        CONTACT: Catherine Bromberg
June 11, 2009                                                     781-262-6027


Hospital Leaders from Cambridge, Lowell and Boston Also Named to Senior Posts

Photo, left to right: Normand E. Deschene, FACHE; Dale M. Lodge; Ellen M. Zane, M.A.; Lynn Nicholas, FACHE; Dennis D. Keefe, Peter L. Slavin, MD.

Ellen M. Zane, MA, President and CEO of Tufts Medical Center in Boston, became the 69th chair of the Massachusetts Hospital Association (MHA)’s Board of Trustees during the group’s annual meeting today in Chatham. After accepting the gavel, Zane called on the Commonwealth’s hospitals and health systems to unify on common issues including payment reform, quality and transparency initiatives, and reducing administrative complexity in the healthcare system.

Zane opened her remarks by congratulating the outgoing chair, Dale M. Lodge, President and CEO of Winchester Hospital, for his outstanding service in the post over the past year.

Zane then spoke of the tremendous changes now underway in healthcare, particularly in light of the ongoing world-wide recession. She called upon her fellow healthcare leaders to join her in being ambassadors for positive change, working collaboratively to ensure that Bay State providers lead the way in healthcare quality, efficiency and innovative response to challenging times.

“As healthcare leaders in Massachusetts, we must be actively involved in guiding the change that we see all around us,” Zane said. “Also, as leaders, we need to push for enhanced quality and efficiency within our organizations. This focus is paramount and must come from the top. It isn’t enough to say we want high quality, accessible care for our patients and our communities. We need to examine and re-examine what we do and how we do it to make those goals a reality.”

In other MHA business at today’s annual meeting, the Association’s leadership team was announced for 2009-2010. Joining Zane are:
• Dennis D. Keefe, Chief Executive Officer of Cambridge Health Alliance, who will serve as Chair-Elect (equivalent to vice-chairman)
• Lowell General Hospital President and CEO Normand E. Deschene, FACHE, as Treasurer
• Peter L. Slavin, MD, President, Massachusetts General Hospital, Secretary

Dale M. Lodge, President & CEO of Winchester Hospital, is now MHA's Immediate Past Chair and Robert G. Norton, President & CEO, North Shore Medical Center (NSMC), Immediate Past Chair Most Recently Retired.

Members also elected Chairs for MHA’s standing committees:
• Paul F. Levy, President & CEO, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Chair of the Clinical Issues Advisory Council (CIAC)
• Patrick L. Muldoon, FACHE, President & CEO, HealthAlliance Hospitals, Standing Committee on Finance (SCOF)
• Joseph J. Mullany, President & CEO, Vanguard Health Systems New England Market, Chair, Standing Committee on Public Affairs (SCOPA)
• Gail Allen, Esq., Board Chair, HealthAlliance Hospitals, Inc., Chair of the Trustee Advisory Council (TAC).

Joining the board in various at-large capacities are:
Allied Position:
Elizabeth A. Cadigan, RN, MSN, President, Massachusetts Organization of Nurse Executives
Non-Type I Member-at-Large Position:
Richard C. Lord, President & CEO, Associated Industries of Massachusetts
• Charles D. Gijanto, President, Baystate Franklin Medical Center
• Richard Aubut, R.N., President & CEO, South Shore Health and Educational Corporation
• John G. Albert, FACHE, Executive Director, Kindred Healthcare, Inc.
• Paul J. Andrews, Board Chair, Winchester Hospital
• Peter J. Holden, President & CEO, Jordan Hospital, Inc.
• Delia O'Connor, President & CEO, Anna Jaques Hospital
• David E. Storto, President, Partners Continuing Care
The new board members named above join MHA President & CEO Lynn Nicholas, FACHE, and the following current members of the MHA Board:
• Walter H. Ettinger, MD, President & CEO, UMass Memorial Medical Center
• Vincent J. McCorkle, FACHE, President & CEO, Sisters of Providence Health System
• Richard T. Palmisano, President & CEO, North Adams Regional Hospital
• David E. Phelps, Chief Executive Officer, Berkshire Health Systems
• John W. Polanowicz, President & CEO, Marlborough Hospital
• Francis M. Saba, Chief Executive Officer, Milford Regional Healthcare System
• Michael V. Sack, President & CEO, Hallmark Health Corporation
• Peter Siersma, MD, PhD, Trustee, Cooley Dickinson Hospital
• Richard P. Ward, Esq., Board Chair, Milton Hospital

“As we move forward into the next fiscal year, MHA is exceptionally fortunate to be moving from strength to strength,” said Association President & CEO Lynn Nicholas, FACHE. “Dale Lodge has been an outstanding Board Chair, and Ellen Zane is clearly up to the task for 2009-2010. And while I am always impressed with the quality of MHA’s board of Trustees, this year’s slate of candidates is truly exceptional. Of particular note is our addition of an at-large board seat for a non-hospital stakeholder. I’m delighted that Rick Lord, President & CEO of Associated Industries of Massachusetts, will be the first person to serve on our board in this capacity – his perspective as a business leader will be invaluable.”

Also at the annual meeting, Winchester Hospital Board members Paul Andrews and Jane Walsh received the Trustee Excellence in Leadership Award for their work on behalf of that organization, and James Mongan, MD, President and CEO of Partners HealthCare, received the William L. Lane Hospital Advocate Award.