Senate President Murray Receives Hegarty Award

Therese Murray (D-Plymouth), who departed the legislature this week after 22 years of service, including the past eight years as president of the Massachusetts State Senate, has been awarded MHA’s Stephen J. Hegarty Award, which recognizes extraordinary commitment to the health and welfare of the citizens of the commonwealth through consistent advocacy and support of measures aimed at improving the quality and delivery of healthcare.

Others receiving the award include U.S. Senator Edward M. Kennedy, Charlie Baker (for his efforts as Secretary of Health and Human Services under Gov. William Weld), U.S. Representative J. Joseph Moakley, State Senator Richard T. Moore, former State Senate President Robert Travaglini, and former CMS Administrator Don Berwick. 

Hegarty was MHA president from 1986-1995. Following a cancer diagnosis at age 43, Hegarty began to review the entire healthcare system from the patient perspective and focused on the importance of a patient-centered health delivery system.  He died at the age of 47.

Murray will be succeeded in the Senate Presidency by Stanley Rosenberg (D-Amherst), who on Wednesday was elected by his colleagues to fill the top leadership post.

MHA's Lynn Nicholas (left) presents Senator Murray with Hegarty Award